NA 19 HariPur By Elections 16 August 2015

NA 19 HariPur By Elections 16 August 2015

na 19 haripur by elections 16 august 2015

HARIPUR: Polling was underway for by-election on NA-19 constituency on Haripur on Sunday, with biometric identification systems being used for the first time on an experimental basis at 30 polling stations.

Polling started at 8:00AM in the morning and is scheduled to continue uninterrupted until 5:00PM. According to some reports, women were barred from voting at five polling stations.

There are 577,480 registered voters, including 259,319 women, in the constituency. Around 2,000 soldiers, 13,000 policemen and 25 platoons of Frontier Corps (FC) personnel have been deployed inside and outside the polling stations to avoid any untoward incident.

Nine candidates are in the run, including Raja Amir Zaman of the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf, Babar Nawaz Khan of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz and Tahir Qureshi of Pakistan People’s Party. Independent candidates are also running for the seat.

A tough contest is expected between the Pakistan MUslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidates.

The NA-19 constituency seat fell vacant when the Supreme Court vacated Omer Ayub Khan on the petition of his rival candidate Dr Raja Amir Zaman.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *